Senate polls, PTI wins seats of Chairman, Deputy Chairman with margin

PM directs to maintain gas tariff for next few months


The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) Friday clinched both the crucial positions for the Chairman Senate and the Deputy Chairman, in a knife-edge competition against the eleven-party opposition alliance.

Sadiq Sanjrani of PTI got 48 votes against 42 of Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani of PDM to win the coveted seat of Chairman Senate, while Mirza Mohammad Afridi won the seat by getting 54 votes against the 44 of Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidari, a joint candidate of PDM, out of a total of 98 votes.

For the seat of Chairman Senate, a total of 98 votes were cast through secret ballot, of which eight votes were rejected. Seven of these ballot papers had a stamp on the name of the candidate and not in the required space – in front of the name of the candidate, while one ballot paper had stamps in front of the names of both the candidates.

Senator Farooq H Naek objected to the rejection of the ballots saying it was not mentioned anywhere in the instructions where to stamp the ballot.

The presiding officer Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah in a ruling said keeping in view the clear instructions given for the voting, seven votes, polled for Yusaf Raza Gilani were rejected.

Later Sadiq Sanjrani took the oath of his office as Chairman for a term on the next three years. The Presiding Officer Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah administered him the oath of office.

Minister Imran Khan on Friday directed to maintain the gas tariff for next few months in a order to provide relief to the consumers.

Chairing a review meeting on the prices of flour, sugar and other essential commodities, the prime minister called for intensifying efforts to facilitate the common man, particularly belonging to the lower class.


Federal ministers including Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar, Dr Abdul Hafeez Sheikh, Mohammad Hammad Azhar, Syed Fakhr-e-Imam, Omar Ayub, and Asad Umar; special assistants Nadeem Babar, Dr Waqar Masood and Tabish Gohar, former finance minister Shaukat Tareen, federal secretaries, and senior officials attended the meeting.

The meeting discussed issues regarding the stability of the prices of essential commodities, particularly flour, and the measures to reduce the prices of sugar, gas, and petrol.

Foreign Minister Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Qureshi has congratulated Sadiq Sanjarani on his election as Chairman Senate.

In a statement today (Friday), he said Sadiq Sanjarani runs the Upper House well and his re-election as Chairman of the Senate is proof of that.

He also expressed gratitude to senators of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and allied parties on this occasion

On the other hand, the prime minister was given a briefing on the prices of petroleum products in the international market.


PM’s Special Assistant on Petroleum Nadeem Babar mentioned that the gas prices were raised on July 1, 2019, and now the Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority (OGRA) had again recommended a six to seven percent increase in its tariff.


The prime minister directed his economic team to ensure the stability of the flour prices till the government introduced the Targeted Subsidy Scheme.

He said a comprehensive program was under consideration for the provision of direct subsidy on flour to the poor people. The subsidy was aimed at providing financial relief to the weaker sections.


He stressed on timely import of wheat through public and private means as per the government decisions keeping in view the future needs.


The prime minister was briefed on the proposed measures to bring down the price of sugar.

The meeting was informed that under the Ramazan relief package, Rs 7 billion had been approved for the provision of commodities at subsidized rates.



Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Newsletter