PML-Q extends alliance with Gov’t, BAP through weight behind opposition

Opposition files no-confidence motion against Buzdar, PM nominates Pervaiz Elahi as new Punjab CM


ISLAMABAD, Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Farrukh Habib says Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar has presented his resignation to the Prime Minister while Prime Minister Imran Khan decided to nominate Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi as the new Chief Minister of Punjab

In a tweet on Monday, he said PML-Q leader and Speaker Punjab Assembly Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi called on Prime Minister in Islamabad and expressed full confidence of his party in the leadership of Imran Khan as Prime Minister.

Farrukh Habib said all issues have been settled with the PML-Q leadership, which has announced its full support to the Prime Minister.

Opposition parties in the National Assembly on Monday tabled a joint resolution for the vote of no-confidence against Prime Minister Imran Khan, challenging the majority of the PTI-led coalition government in the 341-seat House (excluding a seat that fell vacant due to demise of MNA Khayal Zaman Orakzai).

The resolution, carrying names of 152 movers, was presented by Leader of the Opposition Shehbaz Sharif under Article 95(1) of the Constitution, read with rule 37 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly, 2007.

Around 161 members of the Opposition were present in the House when the motion was moved. Deputy Speaker Qasim Khan Suri was in the Chair.

“This House is of the view that the Prime Minister of Pakistan, Mr. Imran Khan, has lost the confidence of the majority of the members of the National Assembly of Pakistan, therefore he should cease to hold office,” the resolution said.

Soon after the motion was tabled, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the House to meet again on Thursday at 4:00 pm to hold mandatory debate on the no-confidence resolution.

Since the opposition parties submitted the no-trust move with the National Assembly Secretariat on March 8, both treasury and opposition benches claimed a majority to defeat each other on this front in the Lower House of the Parliament.

As per the official data placed on the National Assembly’s website, the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has a total of 155 seats (General 122, Reserved 28 and Minority 5), the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) 84 seats (General 66, Reserved 16 and Minority 2), Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) 56 seats (General 45, Reserved 9 and Minority 2), Independent MNAs four seats, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan (MMAP) 15 seats (General 12, Reserved 2 and Minority 1), Pakistan Muslim League (PML-Q) five seats (General 4 and Reserved 1), Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQMP) seven seats (General 6 and Reserved 1), Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) three seats (General 2 and Reserved 1), Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP) one seat, Balochistan National Party (BNP) four seats (General 3 and Reserved 1), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) five seats (General 4 and Reserved 1), Awami National Party (ANP) one seat, Jamhoori Wattan Party (JWP) one seat.

The ruling PTI had formed the government in alliance with the MQMP, PML-Q, BAP, GDA, AMLP, JWP and an independent candidate after securing majority seats in the general election-2018.

If looked into the country’s Parliamentary history, no prime minister has so far been removed through a no-confidence vote.

In the past, such motions had been tabled against two prime ministers. The first resolution was moved in 1989 against the then prime minister Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto and the second in 2006 to oust PM Shaukat Aziz, but they both had survived the vote.

Earlier, Parliamentary Secretary Makhoom Zain Qureshi introduced a bill further to amend the Constitution [The Constitution (26th Amendment) Bill, 2022] in the House. The two opposition parties in Punjab on Monday filed a no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Usman Buzdar.

Public Relation Officer (PRO) Punjab Assembly Abdul Qahar has confirmed that 127 MPAs have signed the no-confidence motion application while 120 members have moved the requisition for assembly session.

The Punjab Assembly official said the no-confidence motion was submitted by opposition lawmakers Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan, Malik Nadeem Kamran, Mian Naseer Ahmed, Ramzan Siddique Bhatti, Samiullah Khan, Syed Hassan Murtaza and others.

A total of 127 lawmakers, mostly from the two major opposition parties, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), signed the application submitted to Secretary Punjab Assembly Muhammad Khan Bhatti.

PML-N MPA Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan said to media that the Speaker Punjab Assembly is bound to summon PA session to vote on the move within the next 14 days.

The PML-leader said 121 MPAs from PML-N and six PPP parliamentarians had signed the no-confidence motion application, adding that the requisition for PA session had been signed by 114 PML-N and six PPP MPAs.

Mashhood claimed to have the support of 200 lawmakers to topple Chief Minister Sardar Usman Khan Buzdar’s government. The opposition claims to have the backing of 200 MPAs in the 371-member House.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Newsletter