PM directs full spectrum & vigorous implementation of NAP, zero tolerance for terrorists

Apex Committee stressed upon the need to strengthen the role of NACTA


Islamabad: Prime Minister Imran Khan Monday said that the government had zero tolerance for terrorists and swift persecution was required to set an example out of terrorist elements.

The Prime Minister was chairing a meeting of the Apex Committee on National Action Plan (NAP) here.

The Apex Committee strongly condemned the Peshawar attack and offered condolences for the martyrs who lost their lives in the attack.

The Prime Minister emphasized that a multi-pronged approach, full-spectrum, and vigorous implementation of NAP were required to thwart the threat of terrorism.

He stressed taking proactive measures to tackle such incidents in the future.

The Prime Minister stated that nefarious designs to destabilize the country would never succeed as the entire nation was united to defeat the menace of terrorism.

He stated that the public realized that elements were trying to create disharmony on the basis of sectarianism and hate speech, but the state will never allow such designs to succeed.

The Apex Committee stressed upon the need to strengthen the role of National Counter Terrorism Authority (NACTA) to coordinate measures essential for countering terrorism and capacity building of Counter Terrorism Departments. It was also highlighted that provinces need to allocate more resources for conducting effective investigations by adopting scientific techniques and setting up modern forensic labs. The need to accord conclusive end to terrorism cases in courts of law was emphasized.

Secretary, Interior Division presented a detailed briefing on the implementation status of NAP including measures taken to choke terror financing, countering violent extremism, investigation and prosecution of terrorism cases, intolerance towards militancy, capacity building of law enforcement agencies, regulation and registration of seminaries, merger of formerly FATA areas, reforms in criminal justice system, eliminating sectarian terrorism, curbing smuggling, narco-traffic and human trafficking, reconciliation process in Balochistan and issues related to refugees.

The meeting was briefed that satisfactory implementation had been achieved on majority action points, however, support from provincial governments was required for inter-provincial issues.

The meeting was attended by Federal Ministers including Fawad Ahmed, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, Asad Umer, National Security Advisor Dr. Moeed Yousaf, Army Chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chief Ministers Sardar Usman Buzdar (Punjab), Murad Ali Shah (Sindh), Mehmood Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Abdul Quddus Bazenjo (Balochistan), Khalid Khursheed (Gilgit Baltistan), Chief Secretaries, Inspector Generals of Police and senior civil and military officers. Meanwhile, he Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s parliamentarians from Sindh Monday urged Prime Minister Imran Khan to launch Sehat Card facility for the people of Sindh from the federal government’s funds, following the provincial government’s unwillingness to allocate the budget.

The prime minister, in a meeting with Sindh Governor Imran Ismail and PTI’s Members of the National Assembly from Sindh, assured them to find out a solution by deliberating on all the options.

The PTI government has already launched or is about to launch Qaumi Sehat Card facility in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Punjab and other federating units providing Rs 1 million health insurance facility to every family.

The parliamentarians appreciated the prime minister for his government’s historic initiatives like Qaumi Sehat Card, Kamyab Jawan Program, and Ehsaas Rashan Subsidy Program.

During the meeting, they also discussed the overall political situation in the country.

Federal Ministers Asad Umar, Syed Ali Haider Zaidi and Mohammed Mian Soomro, and Special Assistant to PM Malik Amir Dogar attended the meeting.

The parliamentarians included Jameel Khan, Muhammad Akram Cheema, Aftab Hassan Siddiqui, Muhammad Alamgir Khan, Saifur Rehman, Aftab Jahangir, Muhammad Aslam, Ghazala Saifi, Nusrat Waheed, Nuzhat Pathan, Jal Parkash Ukrani, Ramesh Kuma and Lal Chand Malhi.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to Newsletter